Learning Disabilities within indoor bowls needed a yearly event to galvanise countries and athletes and so the Learning Disabilities Indoor Bowls International Series (LDIBIS) was born. View the event flyer here.

After many months of hard work from the newly formed Governing body and organising committee the LDIBIS has been formed and its first event is taking shape!

The first event will be hosted by Falkirk Indoor Bowls club and will feature teams from Scotland, Wales and England. The teams will consist of twelve athletes and their coaches. Games of triples, singles and pairs will be played to decide who will lift the Munro Cup.

The series will take place from Tuesday 4th to Thursday 6th of June 2019 and spectators are more than welcome to come and support the event and the athletes.

Scotland head coach Ron McArthur said

“It’s been fantastic to bring this first event to Falkirk. Long may it continue to have such great support and volunteers agreeing to guide it.”

Competition manager Janice Gower is delighted to bring together a fantastic organising team to the event.

“We are all so passionate about supporting Learning Disabilities athletes within Indoor Bowls. It’s going to be a brilliant event. Come on down.”

The organising team consists of:

  • Commentator, Presenter and International Indoor Bowler Janice Gower.
  • Head Official (World Bowls Tour) Dan Bluett. 
  • Deputy Comp Manager (Bowls Scotland & WBT) Tom Weir.
  • Deputy Head official (World Bowls) Ian Munro.
  • Venue Manager Louise Dewey.
  • Operations Manager Keith Dewey.
  • Ceremony and Awards (WBT CEO) Richard Maddieson.

“We have all had a taste for working in this area from volunteering for Special Olympic events and we wanted to give the athletes something to work for yearly,” Gower added.

Any support is gratefully accepted as this is all volunteer and athlete funded. If you are interested in getting involved in any way or an athlete wanting to be considered, please contact us:

Event support Operations Manager Keith Dewey – keithdewey@hotmail.co.uk

Team Scotland Ron McArthur – mrronmcarthur@btinternet.com

Team Wales Barrie Jenkins – barriejenkins50@live.com

Team England Marie Nicholson – marie.nich52@gmail.com