On Sunday 23rd February, 36 bowlers took to the green at Cardiff Indoor Bowls Club to see who would be the Welsh Learning Disability Pairs Champions for 2020.

Well done to all competitors who took part in this, the first Welsh Learning Disability Indoor Bowls Pairs Championship. Some tremendous bowling was witnessed by over 90 Coaches, Supporters and Officials.

Bowlers from Pembroke, Radnorshire, Islwyn, Rhondda and 21 bowlers from Cardiff Chameleons took part in round robin competitions in three separate classifications. The winners and runner-up in each classification went on to the semi finals and finals to determine the Welsh Champions in each category.

All three classifications were mixed, and four women made it through to the semi-finals.
The L3 Classification’s first semi-final was won by the pair from Pembroke, Gwawr Harries and Ben Sanders. The second semi-final was won by Luke Reynolds and Gareth Howell from Cardiff Chameleons. The final was a very hotly contested game, with the Cardiff pair coming out on top to take the title.

The first semi-final of the L2 Classification was again contested by Cardiff Chameleons members and a team from Pembroke Disability Bowls Club. Millie Campbell and David Williams just edging out James Tyler and Andrew Roberts.

The second semi-final matched Jake Griffiths and Lorna Clarke from Radnorshire and Phillip Bayliss from Islwyn and his partner Robert Parker, a Chameleons member, who won by 4 shots to 3.

In the L2 final the partnership of Phillip Bayliss and Robert Parker ran out very worthy winners of the title, coming home by 10 shots to 3.

In the Welsh L1 classification, Cardiff Chameleons bowlers Simon Bould and Alex Jones were worthy winners over their opponents Josh Wilder and Naomi Baelz. This was a very hard-fought competition over two eleven end sets, but with one set won and the second set drawn the title was secured.

Our sincere thanks go to the Coaches and Volunteers from all the clubs, plus the Markers and Supporters from Cardiff IBC for their support; the Coaches and Supporters from Cardiff Chameleons and – finally – a special thank you to Mr. Howard Davies, past WIBA and BIIBC President and Vice President of Cardiff IBC, for presenting the trophies to our worthy winners.