The eyes of the bowls world will be on Cardiff & Vale next month for a 10 nations test match.

Wales have invited nine countries to take part in the nine-day event which is being held as part of the preparation for the Atlantic Championships which Wales will host in 2019.
Countries taking part are Malaysia, Australia, USA, Spain, Ireland, Jersey, Canada, South Africa and Namibia (men only).

Both the WBA and WWBA have chosen teams made up of a mix of experienced and a development players to give them an opportunity to play against some of the top countries in the world.

The test match is being held July 6-14 at Penylan, Cardiff, Penarth Windsor, Barry Athletic and Dinas Powis clubs. There is a rest day on July 10.

Said team managers Hazel Wilson and Dave Harding: “All of us in Welsh Bowls are delighted to be able to host this test event and welcome all the other countries as preparation for the prestigious Atlantic Championships in 2019. The test match is a great opportunity for our players to play against some of the top players in the world. We have selected an exciting blend of both experienced internationals and some of our best emerging talent. We look forward to following their progress through these matches and hope that the spectators enjoy some terrific bowls along the way.”

The WWBA have selected two teams - Wales and Cymru with the following players selected:

Mel Thomas, Lampeter (singles);
Laura Daniels, Brynhyfryd, Gemma Amos, Saundersfoot (pairs);
Alis Butten, Katie Thomas, Whitland, Mel Thomas (triples);
Kelly Packwood, Pontyfelin, Steph Amos, Saundersfoot, Sophie Gittins, Berriew, Laura Daniels, Brynhyfryd (fours).

Sara Marie Nicholls, Llandeilo (singles);
Sara Marie Nicholls, Ysie White, Tenby (pairs);
Jodie McCarthy, Ynys, Bryony Wilson, Berriew, Anwen Butten, Lampeter, (triples);
Anwen Butten, Emma Gittins, Berriew, Jodie McCarthy, Bethan Russ, Port Talbot (fours).

The WBA have selected:

Ben Thomas, Pontrhydyfen (singles);
Jordan Davies, Harlequins, Damian Doubler, Penylan (pairs);
Andrew Wason, Harlequins, Owain Dando, RTB Ebbw Vale, Chris Klefenz, Beaufort (triples);
Lee Daniels, Pontrhydyfen, John Roberts, Tenby, Sam Roff, Llandrindod Wells, Danny Davies Jnr, Beaufort (fours).