World Singles Champion of Champions

Laura Daniels has been crowned world singles champion of champions after a week of high quality bowling at Sydney’s palatial St Johns Park Bowls Club.

Daniels had an impressive round-robin topping the group stages for the first four days, qualifying for the playoffs against South Africa’s Nici Neal and winning two straight sets.

Daniels’ outstanding form continued into the semi-finals where she faced New Zealand’s Selina Goddard winning 8 – 2, 11 – 2 setting her up for the World Singles Champion of Champions Final.

In a brilliant final played in damp trying conditions, Laura saved a match lie when she drew second shot with her last bowl on the last end of the second set to win the set and force a three-end tiebreaker. After scoring a single shot apiece on the opening two ends, a final end shootout was required which Daniels secured against the 2015 champion Emma Saroji from Malaysia.

David Kingdon, of Kidwelly secured Bronze at the event in scintillating style. Kingdon topped his section with an outstanding 10 victories from 13 ensuring progression straight through to the semi-finals. Australia’s Aron Treys defeated Fiji’s Arum Kumar to set up encounter with Kingdon.

An exciting semi-final saw a first set tie with all to play for in the second set, after a hard-fought set Teys clinched the win 8 – 6.

A field of fifty-three contenders travelled from thirty-two countries to compete at the 15th World Singles Champion of Champions. The event was held over 7 days, with qualifying rounds taking place on the first five days followed by a day of semi-finals and finals. The Championships take place annually and a place is secured by winning the national singles title.

Elimination Finals:
Men: Aaron Teys (AUS) bt Arun Kumar (FIJ) 10-5, 7-6; Dean Elgar (NZL) bt Barry Kane (IRE) 7-4, 7-7.
Women: Laura Daniels (WAL) bt Nici Neal (RSA) 10-4, 6-5; Emma Firyana Saroji (MAS) bt Carla Krizanic (AUS) 10-2, 4-9, 5-0.

Men: Aaron Teys (AUS) bt David Kingdon (WAL) 7-7, 8-6; Dean Elgar (NZL) bt Derek Oliver (SCO) 10-5, 10-7.
Women: Emma Firyana Saroji (MAS) bt Donna Knight (ENG) 11-10, 12-6; Laura Daniels (WAL) bt Selina Goddard (NZL) 8-2, 11-2.

Men: Aaron Teys (AUS) bt Dean Elgar (NZL) 12-1, 8-4.
Women: Laura Daniels (WAL) bt Emma Firyana Saroji (MAS) 6-8, 7-5, 5-1.